Barebones CMS

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Golang SSO client
I have been using your SSO system for over two years now, with great success.

One of the factors that made me choose it as the replacement for the SSO system I was previously using was the fact that it only requires PHP and a database to work, and both were things that I already had in place for my existing projects I wanted to integrate with the authentication system. Those projects were PHP applications too, so the fact that only a PHP client was available was not an issue, initially.

However, over the years, I stopped developing new projects in PHP. Now I tend to use Go to write the backend of my web applications. Integrating SSO authentication in those projects proved difficult, and for more than a year I used a hacked-together solution where a PHP script would be used to act as the "bridge" between the SSO system, using the SSO client, and my applications. I was not happy with this solution, because it was not as secure, and the additional component - the "bridge" - posed an additional point of failure (and attack vector).

More recently, I needed to integrate SSO login in an open source project. Using the "bridge" was more or less out of the equation, as it relied, in part, in "security"-through-obscurity. So I finally took the time to digest your SSO documentation and write a SSO client in Go. After carefully analyzing lots of PHP code and after much trial and error, I finally got something that could talk to the SSO server and support all the features I needed: https://github.com/gbl08ma/ssoclient