Redirecting and Deleting Pages

Every relevant website out there grows and changes over time. Change is an essential part of the web and is what makes the Internet an exciting place for users.

During this growth, a lot of old clutter will slowly creep into the site. There will come a time where you may want to redirect or delete entire pages from your website. You should avoid deleting pages as they usually form the basis of a lot of hard-earned search engine optimization (SEO). Redirecting is always preferable to getting a 404 error page and keeps most SEO link equity intact, assuming, of course, that the destination is still relevant.

Redirecting Pages

Redirecting a page is both useful as a permanent solution and a temporary solution to a problem. The most common use for a redirected page is to eliminate it from the site structure. Barebones CMS makes it easy to redirect a page that is no longer in use:

  1. Enter the editor for the page.
  2. Click 'Edit Properties' in the Page Options menu.
  3. In the 'Redirect Page' field, enter the URL to redirect to.
  4. Click 'Save'.

The preview pane will update to show the result of the redirect.

Note that redirected pages are harder to edit. If you want to remove or change the redirect, you have to be logged into Barebones CMS, manually enter the URL of the page, and then append '?bb_action=bb_main_edit', without the quotes, to the end of the URL. Easy Edit normally does this but, since redirection takes place long before a page is displayed, Easy Edit doesn't get a chance to do its thing.

Also, the preview pane may show a scrollbar depending on height of the content at the target URL of the redirect. This is a limitation of HTML and Javascript.

Deleting Pages

Deleting a page from Barebones CMS can only be done from File Explorer or an external FTP client (e.g. FileZilla). Before deleting content permanently, be sure to back it up in case something happens later on down the road and you need to recover something.

To delete a page from within the Barebones CMS editor:

  1. Click 'File Explorer' in the Site Options menu.
  2. Navigate to the location of the file or subdirectory to delete.
  3. Use the 'Delete' option.

Note that all inbound links will display whatever the server has set up as the response for missing content. This is usually a 404 error page.

© CubicleSoft